Board of Directors

The Board of Directors Role in the Property Tax System

The local property tax system follows the principle of checks and balances. An appraisal district board of directors hires the chief appraiser, sets the budget and appoints the appraisal review board members. The directors have no authority to set values or appraisal methods. The chief appraiser carries out the appraisal district’s legal duties, hires the staff, makes the appraisals and operates the appraisal office.


Functions of the Board of Directors and Public Complaint Resolution


CAD Board Members:

Member Name Designation Entity
Robert Dobbs Chairman City of Forney, Forney ISD, Rockwall ISD, City of Heath
Bruce Bynum Vice-Chairman Kaufman County
John Zaby Secretary City of Kaufman, Kaufman ISD
Dr. Bruce Wood Member Terrell ISD, Quinlan ISD, Wills Point ISD
Don Griffin Member City of Kemp, Kemp ISD
Karen Jones Member City of Terrell
Robby Simons Member City of Crandall, Crandall ISD, Scurry-Rosser ISD, City of Combine, City of Seagoville, City of Talty
Teressa Floyd Ex Officio Member Kaufman County Interim Tax Assessor/Collector


BOD Agendas

Contact Information
(972) 932-6081
PO Box 819
Kaufman, TX 75142
Monday - Friday 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Chief Appraiser
Sarah Curtis
How QLess Works
Property Tax 101: Why the Property Tax
Property Tax 101: The Mechanics
Notice: The Appraisal District is giving public notice of the capitalization rate to be used each year to appraise property receiving an exemption under Section 11.1825 of the Property Tax Code for Organizations Constructing or Rehabilitating Low-Income Housing:  Property Not Previously Exempt. 2023 Low Income Housing Apartment Capitalization Rate:  7.5% - 9.5%